GPS: 49°49'55.200"N 17°43'5.459"E – map



The main building is a former coaching inn, Morahäusel – Schenkhäusel, which stood here already around 1750. It was built near the old provincial road leading from Opava through Melč and Budišov nad Budišovkou to Olomouc where it continued with a ford across the Moravice river. Wagooners liked to stop in the local inn before the steep climb to Staré Těchanovice, as they could indulge in food for themselves and their horses. The innkeeper sold beer from the manor brewery in Melč, and the food was praised far and wide. After 1811, the spa Janské Kouple were built not far from here, and so the number of visitors of the inn extended by the spa guests. With the opening of the local slate mines in the first half of the 19th century, a mining settlement began to emerge near the inn Morahäusel. Mining houses (in German called berghauses) thus became the basis of the settlement of Sümpfenwald – Mokřinky.


Mokřinky Settlement

In today's Mokřinky, there has always stood the Melč mill near the ford across the Moravice river. The first mention of the mill comes from 1608, when the local miller Gregor Schmied visited the nobility wielding a sword and spear. Near the mill along the old provincial road stood the coaching inn Morahäusel. The then land register mentions the mill as late as in 1765. It was owned by Franz Richter, who later sold it to the Satkes, a miller family. They retained the "mill with two millstones, saw, oil mill, and hulling mill" until the end of the 19th century when it was bought by Count Camillo Razumovsky. After that, the water turbine in the mill was used to produce electricity for the Count's nearby spa Janské Koupele and the villages of Mokřinky and Zálužné. Today, the mill serves as a private holiday home. Besides the miners' houses scattered around the slate mines, new recreational facilities began to grow here in the first half of the 20th century, mostly thanks the to the proximity of Janské Koupele.


Janské Koupele (in German Bad Johannisbrunn) gained its reputation thanks to its top-quality iron mineral water and beautiful location in the deep wooded valley of the Moravice river. The first mention on the local "exquisite mineral water" dates back to 1640. The spa was established in 1811 by Count Jan of Tenczin, the owner of the manor Melč, who named the spa after himself. Throughout the 19th century and in the first half of the 20th century, Janské Koupele was one of the most famous spas in Silesia. The spa guests mostly come here to treat heart diseases and blood circulation issues. The biggest boom came is in the early 20th century with Count Camillo Razumovsky. However, the Count's descendants were deprived of the spa by German occupation authorities in 1938. Between 1940 and 1942, the spa served as "Oflag VIII E Johannisbrunn", a prisoner of war camp specially designed for approximately 70 captured Allied generals. After the war, a children's sanatorium was established here, and from the late 40s until the beginning of the 90s, the spa served as the largest trade union resort in the country. During its history, thousands of people came here to taste the local mineral water. The spa has been deserted since 1993. 





Project The Land of Slate is a network of interesting tourist destinations and attractions in the area near Vítkov and Budišov. The network is being gradually established by partner towns, municipalities, and civic associations. The Land of Slate offers several interesting trips where you can spent your leisure time actively exploring, sporting, or just relaxing. The project also includes a nature trail – which is exactly where you are standing right now. Extraction of slate in the area between Vítkov and Budišov was a widespread industry still in the last century. Thanks to the very high quality of the local slate, it was used not only for roofing local houses and as a material for further industrial processing, but also for cladding and roofing important historical buildings both in the Czech Republic and abroad. This human activity became imprinted in the local landscape in the form of slate heaps, old quarries and shafts, and various mining-related buildings. However, nature has been gradually taking it all back, which has created unique natural sceneries. The nature trail The Heritage of Slate will lead you through the history of slate mining, with its abandoned heaps and tunnels, and show you the local harsh yet beautiful landscape. 



VÍTKOV – CEMETERY CHURCH OF THE ASSUMPTION OF THE VIRGIN MARY. The church dates from the 16th century. In addition to the valuable Stations of the Cross, you can see a beautiful floor made of large slate boards. The adjacent cemetery, fenced with an old slate-clad wall, houses the grave of Jan Zajíc, an important local figure. Above the cemetery towers an important architectural monument – the Parish Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary.

BUDIŠOV NAD BUDIŠOVKOU – SLATE MUSEUM. Since 1996, the Slate Museum has been gathering unique collections of photographs, documents, and artefacts from the period of mining in the Nízký Jeseník. The very museum building of a former mill is an important architectural monument itself. The town also boasts of a baroque church, town hall, and baroque parsonage – all covered with slate.

NOVÉ TĚCHANOVICE – MINERS' VILLAGE. Vlček's Chapel – covered with the last slate extracted from the Lhotka Mine – stands in the centre of the village. Opposite the chapel, there is the former Pollak's inn with a chapel of its own. The village also has several other interesting buildings and berghauses.

KRUŽBERK – ST. PETER AND PAUL’S CHURCH. This church from the 14th century is a gem among the monuments covered with slate. There are still visible large slate sheets on the supporting walls. Upriver, two kilometres from the church, there is a popular climbing wall with a lookout. After another four kilometres stands the Kružberk Dam.

STARÉ TĚCHANOVICE. The David's Mill with a mill-race and a rope and fitness centre also serves as a hotel. It's a good place to rest and relax. 

KLOKOČOV – FRANTIŠKŮV DVŮR. The tradition of horse breeding in the Klokočov stud farm dates back to 1953. Ten years later, the farm started to breed the cold-blooded Silesian Noriker. You can also take a stagecoach ride here. The mining history is reminded by heaps stretching all the way back to the village.

ČERMNÁ VE SLEZSKU – ČERMENSKÝ MILL is a romantic retreat along the slate trail. There are five former slate mining sites nearby.

STARÉ OLDŘŮVKY. A mining village with heaps and a massive supporting wall made of slate. In the valley of the Odra river, there are still remains of lead ores mining.

LHOTKA – SLATE MINE. The local system of mines Nové Těchanovice-Lhotka comes from the late 19th century and was the only one to remain in operation until 2010.

PODHRADÍ. The trip through the valley of the Moravice river can be finished by a climb to the ruins of the Vikštejn Castle. History of the castle is also closely linked to that of Vítkov. (11 km downstream the Moravice river)

SVATOŇOVICE. A miners' village with numerous slate mining sites in the nearby area.

HRADEC NAD MORAVICÍ CASTLE. This castle with a wealth of exhibits and parks is, in fact, an open-air museum of slate roofs. It is still covered with slate from the Nízký Jeseník (28 km downstream the Moravice river).


Select language